National Merit Award Winners to earn recognition Feb 2nd

January 29, 2015

From left to right, Board of Trustees President Don Ryan, Superintendent Dr. Mark Henry and Cy-Fair High School Principal Mike Smith congratulate a National Merit award winner during the February 2014 celebration at the Berry Center. The 2015 celebration is set for Feb. 2, 2015. 

Jan. 28, 2015—Twenty-two CFISD students who were confirmed as semifinalists in the 60th annual National Merit Scholarship Program will be honored at a National Merit recognition program at the Berry Center on Monday, Feb. 2, 2015—along with Commended, National Hispanic and National Achievement scholars.

National Merit semifinalists from Cy-Fair High School are: Natalie BraunChristopher Larry and Helen Sanchez.

National Merit semifinalists from Cypress Creek High School are:Rebekah CookTravis JohnsonNaren Makkapati and Elliot Matson.

National Merit semifinalists from Cypress Falls High School are:Tashrima Hossain and Vivian Young.

National Merit semifinalists from Cypress Ranch High School are:Eduardo Cedeño and Patrick Kelly.

The National Merit semifinalist from Cypress Woods High School is:Ali Taqvi.

National Merit semifinalists from Jersey Village High School are:Mitchell Robert FlyGabriel KoSamuel Andrew McKenzie andThomas Cody Nguyen.

National Merit semifinalists from Langham Creek High School are:John ColbyMatthew HarrisDevan Mackenzie MendezVicram RajagopalanJacob Sacco and Saad Nafees Yousaf.


The 22 semifinalists, of the 16,000 throughout the U.S. selected by officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, now have the opportunity to win one of approximately 8,000 Merit Scholarship awards. Semifinalists placed among the top 1 percent and Commended Students placed among the top 3 percent of about 1.5 million students who entered the Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. CFISD had 82 total Commended Students.

Cy-Fair High School’s Commended students are: Natalie Berry,Reghan ConreyVamsi GhorakaviAmanda GibbensAishwarya KothareSara LopezDaaniyal MunirJoseph NguyenMadeline NobleStephen R. OrihelAishwarya RaoSierra RoneyEfrain RoviraAaron SmithTyler W. SorrellsRyan Steppe andChristopher Ullrich.

Cypress Creek High School’s Commended students are: Kaitlin BrownRose E. CampbellAnna DonnellyJacob EnglishPeter HymelJennie KimRohit MathilakathBenjamin MoremanJennifer RenConnor Stockton Seymour and Amy Weinberg.

Cypress Falls High School’s Commended students are: Nafeesa Abuwala and Jose Miguel Rodriguez.

Cypress Lakes High School’s Commended students are: Maryam Aliand Thao Truc Pham.

Cypress Ranch High School’s Commended students are: Juan David BenavidesAndrew Alexander HadadSidney LeBlancSiri S. MagadiSamuel MorrillMuhammad Ramish NadeemEmily NguyenJuan OteroTerrence ParkMaxwell PearceCasey Porter,Michael Walther and Rahul Zahroof.

Cypress Ridge High School’s Commended students are: Alex DantzlerMichael Goulet and Shrenevas Nandam.

Cypress Woods High School’s Commended students are: Austin ArnoldAranka Barbe’Rachel BhallaTy DendyHailey Elizabeth FeikDarcy A. HintonAnvita HodekarZachary McNealZach QuinlanPhillip James SilvermanCormac TigheAndrea Vickers,Darrin M. Wiley and Devin Wilkins.

Jersey Village High School’s Commended students are: Claire Blute,Morgan BrownVictoria CometJacob EglihtKevin LeAnh-Khoa VuBryan NguyenHaley Marie RamponiZachary Allen StachowiakKevin Edward Villarreal and Harriet Wu.

Langham Creek High School’s Commended students are: Kristina BatesAlan GalindoGriffin JudgeJuvariya LatQuinton Lawton,Michael Steven LongSamantha SamuelsAllen TanCindy Vu andSamuel Lee Witherspoon.


The National Hispanic Recognition Program provides national recognition of the exceptional academic achievements of Hispanic high school seniors and identifies them for postsecondary institutions. Thirty-seven Hispanic Scholars have been recognized as Scholars by the College Board’s National Recognition Program.

They are among a select group of 5,000 of the highest-scoring students from more than 250,000 Hispanic/Latino high school juniors who took the PSAT/NMSQT.

From Cy-Fair High School, four students were named Hispanic Scholars: Alexandria GarciaAndres Gonzalez, Efrain Rovira andSophia Woody.

From Cypress Creek High School, Julia Anderson was named a Hispanic Scholars.

From Cypress Lakes High School, Katherine Michelle Martinez was named a Hispanic Scholar.

From Cypress Ranch High School, 13 students were named Hispanic Scholars: Christopher Azaldegui, Juan David BenavidesEduardo CedeñoAndrew Alexander HadadDaniela HerreraMegan IngledewPatrick KellyMiguel LiraMaria Elisa LynchJuan Otero,Laura PavaJacob Andrew Reed and Brandon Urrea.

Cypress Ridge students Jordan Barge, Michael GouletFelina Vasquez and Joanna Velez.

Cypress Springs High School students Fabian Alicea-AponteJean-Paul Serrano and Stephanie Villanueva were named Hispanic Scholars.

Cypress Woods High School students Robert BarrientezAshley BosquezIan ChavezCatherine GonzalezZachary McNealLorena MelendezDaniel SamaniegoAndrea VickersBrenda Villarrealand Chyann Williams were named Hispanic Scholars.

Langham Creek High School student Devan Mackenzie Mendez was named a Hispanic Scholar.


The National Achievement Scholarship Program is an academic competition established in 1964 to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students. Black students may enter both the National Achievement Program and the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and meeting other published requirements for participation. The two annual programs are conducted concurrently but operated and funded separately. Of the more than 160,000 students who currently enter the National Achievement Program each year, approximately 4,700 are honored. A group of about 3,100 are referred to colleges for their potential for academic success. A smaller group of about 1,600 are named semifinalists.

Five CFISD students were named National Achievement semifinalists, while 10 students were referred to colleges by National Achievement.

The National Achievement semifinalist from Cy-Fair High School isChristopher Larry, while Sridhar Justin Changalpet and Taylor Tyrese McCowin were referred to colleges.

Cypress Falls High School students Malaaz Ghandour and Steffon Yarbrough were referred to colleges.

Cypress Ranch High School students Shason BriscoeMeghan Alexis Gwinn and Hannah Maxwell were named National Achievement semifinalists.

Cypress Woods High School students Bayley CliettChandler Green,Ejakhianaghe ObiomonToju Okotie-Eboh and Chyann Williamswere referred to colleges.

Jersey Village High School student Joel Kristopher Holmes II was referred to colleges.

Langham Creek High School student Temitope Akinola is a National Achievement semifinalist.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.